Georgia primary election: Here are the key DA, sheriff races to watch on Tuesday

Georgia voters get their say in presidential primary election.

GEORGIA — Georgia voters will head to the polls on Tuesday to vote in the primary election with nearly 300 federal, state and county races.

The polls officially open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. You can find your polling location and times here.

Here are the key races to watch on Tuesday and who’s running on the Democrat, Republican and Non-Partisan tickets. Note that some races feature candidates only from one party.


Fulton County

Democrat: Fani Willis (incumbent), Christian Wise Smith

Republican: Courtney Kramer

Gwinnett County

Democrat: Andrea Alabi, Patsy Austin-Gatson (incumbent), Daryl Manns


Clayton County Sheriff

Democrat: Levon Allen (incumbent), Clarence Cox, Jeffrey Turner, Charlene Watson-Fraser.

Cobb County

Democrat: Gregory Gilstrap, Craig Owens Sr. (incumbent)

Republican: David Cavender, Antanay Hogan, Ricci Mason

Fulton County Sheriff

Democrat: Kirt Beasley, James “JT” Brown, Joyce Farmer, Patrick Labat (incumbent)

Gwinnett County

Democrat: Curtis Clemons, Shurron Green, Joseph Mark, Keybo Taylor (incumbent), Brian Whiteside

Republican: Mike Baker, Baron Reinhold, Oladipupo Soyomokun

Henry County

Democrats: Willie Brown, Cornell Madison Jr., Reginald B. Scandrett (incumbent). Walter Woolfork’s name will be on the ballot for Henry County Democrats on Tuesday, but the votes for him will not count after he was disqualified a over paperwork issue.

Non-partisan: Curtis Steven Farmer, Adrian Washington

Republican: John Lee Redlinger


Voters will be picking candidates in all of Georgia’s 14 congressional districts.

Rep. Drew Ferguson, who represents Georgia’s 3rd Congressional District, is not running for re-election, which means his seat is up for grabs. There are two Democrats and six Republicans running in the race for Ferguson’s seat.

Districts 6 and 7 will also be ones to watch both districts were impacted by the new Congressional maps that were drawn up earlier this year.

District 6, currently held by Republican Rep. Rich McCormick, will shift to a Democrat-leaning district. District 7, currently held by Democrat Rep. Lucy McBath, will shift to a Republican-leaning district.

McBath is running in District 6 against two challengers Jerica Richardson and Mandisha Ann-Marie Thomas on the Democratic ticket. Jeff Criswell is the only candidate on the Republican primary.

McCormick will run unopposed in the Republican primary in District 7 with Bob Christian running as Democratic candidate.

In District 11, two candidates, Lori Pesta and Mike Pons, are challenging incumbent Rep. Barry Loudermilk on the Republican primary ticket.

Incumbent Rep. David Scott will have six challengers against him in the Democratic primary for District 13 while two candidates are running on the Republican side.

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene will run unopposed in the Republican primary while four candidates are vying to become her Democratic challenger in the November general election.

Comments on this article





mobile apps

Everything you love about wsbradio.com and more! Tap on any of the buttons below to download our app.

amazon alexa

Enable our Skill today to listen live at home on your Alexa Devices!